Colombian superstar Karol G has just been announced as Billboard’s ‘Woman of the Year’ for 2024.

The announcement was made on Billboard’s official social media platforms, with the news also mentioning how the best-selling pop-reggaeton artist will be performing at this year’s Billboard Women in Music Event in Los Angeles this March 6, 2024. Before Karol G was formally announced, the music media authority teased audiences by giving three hints about the awardee’s identity, stating how “she has made Billboard Charts history”, “she has sold out stadiums on tour”, and how “she has a popular nickname.”

Billboard woman of the year 2024

Courtesy of Billboard Global

Karol G also joins the likes of fellow honorees Charli XCX, Ice Spice, Kylie Minogue, Luisa Sonza, Maren Morris, NewJeans, Tems, Victoria Monet, and Young Miko at this year’s Women in Music celebration. Last year, R&B sensation SZA was awarded the honor of Woman of the Year for 2023, with Doechii given the Rising Star title, Lainey Wilson for Rulebreaker, Lana Del Rey for the Visionary Award, TWICE as Breakthrough Artist, Rosalia as Producer of the Year, Latto for Powerhouse, Ivy Queen for Icon, and Becky G for the Impact Award.

Earlier this week, Karol G won the Grammy award for Best Musicana Urbana Album, while fellow honorees Kylie Minogue won for Best Pop Dance Recording, and Victoria Monet swept three major awards –– including that of Best New Artist, Best Engineered Album Non-Classical, and Best R&B Album.

Billboard Women in Music’s 2024 program will be hosted by Tracee Ellis Ross, with tickets to the event made available and on sale here.

To read through the full list of honorees at this year’s event, read through the list below to see which awards each artist has been nominated for:

  • Karol G – Woman of the Year
  • Charli XCX – Powerhouse
  • Ice Spice – Hitmaker
  • Kylie Minogue – Icon
  • Luisa Sonza – Global Force
  • Maren Morris – Visionary
  • NewJeans – Group of the Year
  • Tems – Breakthrough
  • Victoria Monet – Rising Star
  • Young Miko – Impact Award