Jessica Sanchez is back — and this time, on her own terms.

Earlier this month, the Filipino singer-songwriter and American Idol finalist kickstarted her return to music with the release of her latest single, “Higher”. The track comes as the first in a series of singles Sanchez plans to release from April to August, each geared to showcase the singer’s musical depth and versatility.

These singles come as Sanchez’s first major solo music project and is dedicated to her fans, who have shown unwavering support since her run on the 11th season of American Idol in 2012. In an exclusive statement to Billboard Philippines, Sanchez shares, “This year, I’ve set a goal to finally go all out and start releasing my original music for all my supporters who have been asking and patiently waiting for the past few years.”

These upcoming releases is said to document the singer’s own journey of self-discovery and empowerment, offering fans glimpses into different seasons of her life over the last couple of years. A project that comes six years in the making, Sanchez shares that working on these songs come a cathartic and transformative experience that helped her decide what kind of artist she wanted to become.

“Throughout my years of performing, I always let others dictate what kind of artist I was. I began to lose my identity in others’ opinions. My husband encouraged me to try writing and piecing together my own music. This significantly changed things for me,” she says. “Now, I can’t wait to get into the studio to start writing and creating something new.”

Following “Higher”, Sanchez is set to release her next tracks, “Weekend Love” on April 19 and “Special/Right Here” on May 3. Check out her full release schedule below.

  • “Weekend Love”: April 19
  • “Special/Right Here”: May 3
  • “More Than A Dream” – May 17
  • “Table 4 2”: May 31
  • “Honest”: June 14
  • “My Body”: June 28
  • “Cherry”: July 12
  • “Ivory Feelings”: July 26
  • “Why Don’t We”: August 4
  • “Drive Me Crazy”: August 4
  • “Badd”: August 4
  • “Intro”: August 4

Listen to Jessica Sanchez’s “Higher” here.